I think I’m in love…

Ok, I’m exaggerating slightly. But the on-line librarians at American Public University System/American Military University are awesome. Get this: I sent them an oddball question about citation in the APA style at 8:30 PM Central on a Saturday night and got a response with information, details, and additional references within an hour. Then, at 7:00 PM on the following Sunday evening, I get even MORE detail and guidance!

Now, you have to understand that I ask really obscure or oddball questions, often because I couldn’t find the answer myself first. In this instance, I was trying to figure out how to cite a PowerPoint presentation with no named author, that was gathered from the Internet for my research and writing class. Between three different librarians, they were able to square me away completely for this question as well as give me resources that will be helpful in the future.

Then, as a follow-on question at 9:00 PM on Sunday night, I asked about citing what I called a tertiary source (citing one source that cited a second source when I want to use the quote from the second source. Did that make sense?) in my paper. The librarian, Neville, gives me  direction to an on-line resource that answers most of the question (see the part about citing indirect sources) which leads me to another question, which I send back.  He goes and feeds my ego (bless him. :D ) about asking “[y]et another on-point question” and goes on to clarify the situation that is not exactly clear-cut but is not completely off the wall.

I just want to publicly thank Neville for his patience and help with my questions. And I sent an email to the library director about him, too. :D

One response to “I think I’m in love…

  • Dan Soschin

    Geordon, thanks for your kind words about the university’s library staff. I have shared a link to your article with our staff. We appreciate the positive feedback and are delighted we met (or exceeded) your expectations.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

