On creativity

I want to write fiction.  I want to tell stories. I want to tell tales.  I’ve wanted to do this for many years.  But I have one little problem.  Well, maybe two.

I don’t think that I have any creative “juice”.  I’m a technician by nature, I figure out how things work and make it happen.  Yes, this is a form of creativity, and I’ll freely admit it, but there are fixed parameters around that sort of work.  And, it’s well within my comfort zone.

Another problem is that I just don’t trust myself to write something “worthwhile” to others.  Sure, I can write a 5000 word paper for school, no problem.  I have a framework to work within and a definite goal.  Writing a fiction work seems to be so much more amorphous, slippery, and “wibbly-wobbly” and I just can’t wrap my head around it.

So, I asked for (and got) a set of Rory’s Story Cubes for Christmas.  It’s just nine dice, with pictures on ‘em, but the whole thing intimidates me.  It’s totally working without a net, for crying out loud!

Any writers out there have any advice for a rank amateur?

Addendum: The Story Cube roll is below the jump

And no, I didn’t rearrange them to be all in one direction. I’ll have to let this one percolate for a while.  Maybe.  Sunday.  I’ll write something about these on Sunday.  January 6 2013 for you time travelers. ;)

Story cubes first roll

6 responses to “On creativity

  • Easy Lifestyles

    Just writing makes you stand out from others. Let the fear of is it good enough slide out your mind. Every writer has thought that way.

    We will be waiting for you on the other side. Make that leap of faith. Invest in yourself!

    Thank you very much for sharing. What a great blog you have. Easy on the eyes and an excellent writing style. Nice job indeed!

    I ‘ll let everyone know about it for sure. Have a wonderful day.

  • Betsy

    I have heard this same fear and concern from several published authors of my acquaintance. It’s so prevalent an attitude that Wiscon (the annual feminist Science Fiction convention) holds a workshop every year on the “I’m not worthy/ I’m an imposter” issue – attended each year by successful published authors. Every artist feels this way. I have this fear when designing jewelry. The only solution is to just write. Or bead. Or knit. Or whatever your chosen medium happens to be. The only bad writing is the writing you don’t do. Ad maybe your forte isn’t fiction. Writing non-fiction in a storytelling mode is just as valuable as writing fiction…

  • Katherine

    Hi there! First off, I really admire you for even wanting to write. Second, you’ll never know and always wonder what you could achieve unless you do something about it. Third, like Betsey said, all artists feel this fear at some point; I’m a writer, and I know I do. I hope you don’t mind, but I actually wrote a post about this, and I’d like to share it with you. Hope it helps!

    http://writetomorrowtoday.blogspot.com/2013/01/on-fear-and-empowerment.html

  • Geordon

    Thank you all for stopping by, but especially thank you Katherine, Easy Lifestyles, and Betsy for taking the time to comment. Your words are all encouraging, and I appreciate that.

    Intellectually, I know that all artists are the hardest on themselves. I saw it first hand when my wife was actively pursuing medieval calligraphy and illumination for a reenactment group that we were part of. She would see all of the minor flaws and miss the overall impression that the finished piece created.

    I will try expand my horizons, after all, that’s part of what this blog is about: My personal evolution.

    I have to say, though, that having these dice staring up at me while sitting at my computer reminds me of the opening sequence of a TV show from many years ago. I *think* it was Asimov, sitting at his typewriter tapping away, and glancing about the room at the inspirational clutter.

    Does anyone remember that show?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

